NewBeauty TestTube Review

Disclosure: This post may contain affiliate links, which means we may receive a commission if you click a link and purchase something. Please check out our privacy policy for more details.

New Beauty TestTube

It’s frequently said, including by me, that Birchbox was the site that started the subscription box movement but that’s actually not true. The NewBeauty TestTube was really the first beauty subscription program, having launched way back in 2006. It was Birchbox, however, that helped take this genre mainstream.

Here’s the funny thing: I was actually one of the first subscribers to NewBeauty TestTube. I read about the beauty sampling program in a magazine and subscribed immediately. At the time the tube was shipped out quarterly and I think I received two tubes before I canceled thinking that it was really weird that I was spending money to get samples from an internet company. (Oh, if I’d only known…) While I enjoyed receiving the tube, I was also in my mid-20s at the time and thought the products were a bit old for me as I was receiving anti-wrinkle products, night creams, etc.

Well fast forward 8 years and I finally got my hands on a NewBeauty TestTube to review for this site and while I’m closer to their ideal customer now I still thought the tube was just a little old for me, and you’ll see why below.

The NewBeauty TestTube costs $29.95 (plus $8.95 shipping) and it now ships out six times per year. In addition to the tube you will also receive a quarterly subscription to NewBeauty Magazine.

2015-05-16 22.43.50

 

The TestTube comes filled with products! It was so full that there was maybe only room for one more small sample. This is something I remember from when I subscribed way back when – I was never disappointed with the number of products I received!

2015-05-16 22.51.00

Another great thing about the NewBeauty TestTube? It comes with an incredibly detailed guide discussing each of the products included in the shipment. The guide tells you how to use the product, where to buy the product, how much it costs, and how to follow the brand on social media if you so choose.

2015-05-16 22.44.30

It’s a 10 Miracle Silk Leave-In – I love It’s a 10 products and this is a very generous travel-sized sample! I haven’t tried this particular product of theirs yet so I’m excited to give it ago. This leave-in conditioner allegedly restores moisture while adding strength and shine.

2015-05-16 22.47.27

Dr. Brandt Skincare Needles No More – This is an example of one of the products I think makes this beauty sample box a better fit for more mature subscribers, as I’m not sure younger subscribers will find much use for a topical wrinkle relaxing cream. This cream can apparently help with forehead lines, frown lines and crow’s feet.

 

2015-05-16 22.46.35

Hada Labo Tokyo Replenishing Hydrator – Full Size Product! – I have tried this moisturizer before and liked it quite a bit! It is a very lightweight formula that absorbs easily. While this is intended for facial use, I also like using it on my dry hands during the winter months. I’m happy to have a second of this product!

2015-05-16 22.45.12

Lids by Design Medical Grade Instant Eyelid Correcting Strips – This product, which helps counteract sagging eyelids, is another that might be more useful for more mature subscribers. Apparently you’re supposed to wear the strips “all day” to achieve younger looking lids… I can only assume they mean on weekends and such, right?

 

2015-05-16 22.48.04

TanTowel – I am generally afraid of using self tanners and turning orange (or at least an unnatural-to-me color) but I’ve heard good things about TanTowel so I’m tempted to give these a shot. The towelettes have the self tanner already applied to them, so they’re supposed to help make application easier and eliminate streaking.

2015-05-16 22.45.37

glō therapeutics Gentle Cream Cleanser – I’m not at all familiar with this brand, but I appreciate receiving a sensitive skin face cleanser! Most of the cleansers I receive in subscription boxes are not formulated for sensitive skin so I really feel like this is a treat! According to the description this is a creamy cleanser that will help calm inflammation and help maintain moisture balance.

2015-05-16 22.46.57

Patchology Hydrate FlashMasque Facial Sheets – I haven’t received this particular mask before, but I really enjoy trying out new facial sheets. I’m normally too cheap to spring for a facial (I’ve only had 2 in my life), so I like products like these that make my skin feel like I’ve had a facial without needing to pay the big bucks. This particular mask delivers a “mega-dose of moisture” so I think I’m going to treat myself to this mask tonight to help eliminate some of the dryness that’s left over in my skin from winter.

Overall: I would say this NewBeauty TestTube was awesome! I don’t know the specific value of all of the contents, though the Hada Labo Tokyo Hydrator retails for $17.99. All of the other products that were included were all generous samples of high-end brands that aren’t particularly cheap to buy. What I found before, back in 2006, and what still seems to be true, is that NewBeauty TestTube does a great job of curating a selection of high-end brands, many of which I’ve never heard of before. I’m assuming the higher price point allows them to target some of the brands that you won’t find in other subscription boxes. It does also seem that the TestTube focuses more on skincare products than it does makeup, so you may want to keep that in mind if you plan to subscribe. I’d be shocked if they ever sent out a box just filled with makeup. In fact, that was a factor in why I canceled way back when – I was far more interested in makeup than I was skincare products.

NewBeauty TestTube is a beauty subscription that costs $29.95 every two months. There is no yearly membership or discount for subscribing for an extended period. You can cancel anytime.

Click here to check out the NewBeauty TestTube!

Disclosure: One TestTube was provided to me for the purpose of a review but all opinions expressed above are my own.

About Lisa Koivu

Lisa Koivu is the founder and editor of ShopGirlDaily.com. She also shares writing and monetization tips for bloggers at OhSheBlogs.com.